County Governors announce Shutdown due to Senate Revenue Impasse.
Governor Wycliffe Oparanya

County Governors announce Shutdown due to Senate Revenue Impasse.

The Council of Governors has announced that all 47 Counties will be paralized as from tomorrow 17th September 2017.

In a statement released by the Kakamega County Governor who is also the Chairman of Council of Governors H.E. Wyclife Oparanya, the Council announced; ” Due to the ongoing stalemate in the Senate on funds flow County Governments have no choice but to proceed to shutdown and suspend all non-essential services” . County Governments have been advised to issues notices as follows:

1. County Health services will not permit any inpatient admissions. They will only provide minimal outpatient services

2. All non-essential services are hereby suspended and County employees are advised to proceed on leave for two weeks.

Systemic Failure

Speaking immediately after the Statement was released, Laikipia Governor Nderitu Muriithi lamented the impasse terming it a systemic failure of many institutions to do their work. He added that the Attorney General has opposed the utilization of the Public Finance Regulations which would have allowed the Treasury to release 50% of county revenue and termed it a bad law.

“This is the biggest crisis that devolution has faced since 1966” Governor Nderitu Murithi. The services expected to be affected will include, garbage collection, issuance of Licences.

Leave a Reply